Regulated Qualifications in Scotland



In Scotland PAA\VQ-SET offer Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) and other qualifications which are accredited by SQA Accreditation and sit in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF).


Available Qualifications


Please select one of the options below for details of available qualifications:


> Laboratory & Associated Technical Activities

> Process Engineering Maintenance

> Processing Industries Operations

> Signmaking


PAA\VQ-SET also offer our full range of qualifications in Scotland, find out more >>




SQA Accreditation


Under Scottish Government legislation, SQA Accreditation quality assures qualifications offered in Scotland by approving awarding bodies and accrediting their qualifications. SQA do this by regulating awarding bodies and their qualifications against published regulatory requirements. The work of SQA Accreditation is directed by the Accreditation Committee (AC) whose members are from industry and training providers independent of SQA Accreditation.



Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)


The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) aims to promote lifelong learning in Scotland by:

  • Helping people of all ages and circumstances access appropriate education and training so they can meet their full potential.

  • Helping employers, learners and the general public to understand the full range of Scottish qualifications, how qualifications relate to each other and to other forms of learning, and how different types of qualification can contribute to improving the skills of the workforce.


The SCQF helps to make the relationships between qualifications clearer and clarify routes for progression within and across education and training sectors. It assists learners to plan their progress and learning, and helps maximise the opportunities for credit transfer, thus avoiding repetition of learning.


Qualifications in the SCQF are compared using two measures: level and credit. The level of a qualification indicates the level of difficulty and the number of credit points indicates the length of time it takes to complete. One SCQF credit point represents an average of 10 hours of learning time.


What are Level and Credit Points in the SCQF?


The SCQF is a way of comparing the wide range of Scottish qualifications, by giving each qualification a Level and a number of Credit Points. The Level of a qualification shows how difficult the learning is; the Credit Points show the size of the qualification and how much work is involved in achieving that qualification. It covers achievements from school, college, university and many work-based qualifications.




There are 12 SCQF levels; increases in level of demand relate to factors such as: complexity and depth of knowledge and understanding; links to academic, vocational or professional practice; the degree of integration, independence and creativity required; the range and sophistication of application/practice and the role(s) taken in relation to other learners/workers in carrying out tasks.


Each level of the SCQF from 2 to 12 has a descriptor, which sets out its characteristic general outcomes under five broad headings:

  • knowledge and understanding - mainly subject based

  • practice (applied knowledge and understanding)

  • generic cognitive skills, e.g. evaluation, critical analysis

  • communication, numeracy and IT skills

  • autonomy, accountability and working with others


The level descriptors are designed to allow broad comparisons to be made between the outcomes of any learning that has been, or can be, subject to valid, reliable, and quality-assured assessment.


Credit Points


SCQF Credit Points are used to quantify the outcomes of learning and give them a value or currency. These general SCQF Credit Points are allocated to outcomes of learning that are subject to valid, reliable methods of assessment.


The number of SCQF Credit Points is worked out on the basis of the amount of time that an 'average' learner at a specified level might expect to take to achieve the outcomes. In common with other credit systems, the SCQF works on the basis that one Credit Point represents the outcomes of learning achieved through a notional 10 hours of learning time. However, this is merely a guide and no points are added or taken away if more or less time is taken to achieve the outcomes. No points are 'earned' by a learner if the outcomes of learning are not achieved.

SCQF Ready Reckoner


For further information see the SCQF Ready Reckoner (PDF format) click here >>

Further Information


For full information about the SCQF including the SCQF Partnership and the Framework visit

Further Information


For further information about SQA Accreditation visit

Quick Links


Offer new Qualifications >>

Not found it?

© 2015 PAA\VQ-SET

Registered Office : Unit 1 Twelve O'clock Court, Attercliffe Road, Sheffield, S4 7WW